Local Attractions

Electric Picnic
Electric Picnic returns to Stradbally for the sixteenth edition of the festival this August Bank Holiday Weekend. The traditional summer blow-out featuring a host of top Irish and international acts takes place between August 31st and September 2nd.

 

 

The Locals pubs in Stradbally and Vickerstown such as The Vintage inn, Dunnes, Vicarstown Inn (on the canal) are open in the evening, some serving food.

One can go fishing, country walks, kayaking, rowing swimming and great for photography enthusiasts.

Stradbally woods are open to the public with a mass rock on the trail.

In Stradbally we have a national steam museum available to view on appointment please contact 086 3890184.

 

Ballykilcavan brewery

At Ballykilcavan Brewing, we believe in using the best quality ingredients we can get our hands on, and we believe that the best way to control that quality is to grow our own. 100% of the barley we use to make our beer will be sourced from our farm. Our pale ale malt is malted by Minch Malt in Athy on their Robert Boby Malting plant, which produces an ale malt specifically designed for craft brewers. Our crystal malt is micro-malted by Maltbox, and our amber and chocolate malts are roasted in small batches in a custom designed micro-roaster for maximum freshness.

 

 

 

Barrrowline Cruises 

An award-winning family run narrowboat & barge hire business based on the Grand Canal at Vicarstown, Co. Laois.There equipped base is ideally located to allow you explore the full extent of both the Grand Canal and River Barrow.

These waterways provide two totally different cruising experiences….

Cruising north from Vicarstown you travel the Barrow line section of the Grand Canal. This links with the Grand Canal main line at Lowtown. From here you can travel east towards Dublin or west to the mighty Shannon and beyond.”

 

 

 

The Irish Grand canal
Fishing on the Grand Canal is exceptional and offers superb sport from quiet reed-fringed banks with a chance to catch tench, rudd, roach, bream, hybrids, perch and an increasing number of small carp. In Laois we claim to have the most abundant stocks along the Barrow Line of the canal running through Rathangan, Monasterevin, Vicarstown and the market town of Athy before it joins the River Barrow.

 

 

Supershoot paint balling 
Supershot Paintball Stradbally is based on the Stradbally Hall estate. The Paintball centre is ideally location within a 1 hour drive of Dublin. The course makes excellent use of the surrounding woodlands and terrain. The paintball centre runs a number of different types of games.

 

 

Laois Angling club 

Located at Coolrain, less than 3 miles from the N7, the Laois Angling Center combines the peace and tranquility of the Irish country side with exceptional game and coarse fishing. The four large spring fed lakes, surrounded by mature woodlands, Clonoghil House and farmlands provide the perfect natural conditions for both the fish and fisherman. The lakes are stocked regularly with brown and rainbow trout, carp and bream ensuring a varied and interesting experience.

The modern facilities include large parking area, wheelchair access, tackle hire and light refreshments with picnic and barbecue areas ideal for family and corporate events. Whether you are a beginner or an expert, the Laois Angling Center provides the complete fishing experience.

 

 

 

 

Laois kayak & canoe club 

Laois Kayak and Canoe Club is involved in many different types of kayaking and canoeing, ranging from white water river-running and canoe polo to freestyle play boating and flat-water racing. The Club aims to introduce everyone to the sport of kayaking, and caters for every level of skill, from complete beginner to expert paddling. Laois Kayak and Canoe Club meets regularly all year round and weekly trips, excursions and training are organised through the Club’s Meets Officer Event details are updated on our News & Events page and our Facebook page.

 

 

 

The Irish Fly fishing and gaming museum.

The Irish Fly Fishing and Game Shooting Museum explores 300 years of hunting and fishing in Ireland. It is a treat for anyone interested in country life. The museum was founded in 1986 by Walter Phelan, who comes from a family devoted to fishing. He has restored and adapted a traditional farmhouse to house a collection of vintage rods, reels, guns, tackle, tools and specimens of birds and fish.

 

 

 

Ballintubbert house and Gardens

Dating back to 1780, Ballintubbert was the birthplace of poet laureate C. Day–Lewis. This historic house with breath–taking gardens is available to you for exclusive hire. Take advantage and walk the fourteen archers of exquisite gardens.  This location is very popular for wedding and film shooting. The Footsbarn theater  group and the Band The Frames are some of th we’ll know artist who have preformed here.

 

 

 

Ballinakill outdoor swimming pool

35 metre main heated Pool and a 10 metre toddler Pool, 1 to 1 Swimming Lessons from Beginners to Elite, Family Swims, Lane Swims, Aqua Aerobics and much more.

 

 

Laois off road Karting
Off-road kart racing on a large gravel, grass and MUD track (roughly the perimeter of a 10 acre field). We use high quality commercial class Gemini karts fitted with 400cc Honda GX engines.

 

 

 

 Heywood Gardens

Colonel William Hutchinson Poe commissioned the leading architect, Sir Edwin Lutyens, to plan the gardens at Heywood. Known as “The Italian Gardens”, they are the only Irish example of Lutyens’ work outside of Dublin. The gardens were completed in 1912. They consist of formal gardens, lakes, woodland and architectural features, such as gothic gates and artificial ruins, embellished with medieval pieces such as the window taken from Aghaboe Abbey.

The gardens in Heywood remained as structurally intact as they were when they were completed at the turn of the century.

 

 

 

The Slieve Bloom Mountains

The gently rolling hills of the Slieve Bloom Mountains rise from the central plains of Ireland, very near to Ballyfin. The area is made up of forests and blanket bog of a type unique to Ireland, interspersed with hidden valleys of great character and interest to the nature lover. The natural colours of the landscape are remarkable in any season. Much of the higher reaches of the mountains have been designated as an Environmentally Protected Area, as an amenity for generations to come. The mountains also provide a paradise for walkers of all levels.

Guides can be arranged for walks of a couple of hours to a full day with a picnic lunch or a stop in a friendly pub, or visitors to Birr can enjoy a spectacular drive over the mountains.

 

 

Capard Loops
Situated in the Slieve Bloom Mountains the Capard Loop is one of the best walks and combines a beautiful wooded valley with lofty ridge views for all to enjoy. At almost 500m above the surrounding flat countryside, the wild windswept ridge is home to a vast array of wild plant and animal life and it is possible to see well into the counties surrounding Laois. On a clear day the Wicklow Mountains are visible to the east.

 

 

Stradbally Hall

Stradbally Hall was Built in 1772, the Cosby ancestral home is located on 550 acres of rolling woodland, streams and countryside surrounded by ancient oaks and chestnut trees. Stradbally Hall is the venue of the international boutique music festival Electric Picnic. There is a fully functional paintball course on the estate, a large well stocked fishing lake, and the annual Irish Steam Rally is held every August. Stradbally Hall hosts many jumping leagues, point to points, hunter trials and one-day events throughout the year.

 

 

 

An Cnoc Ban Farm 

An Cnoc Bán is an organic working farm in Spink, Co. Laois that run a range of seasonal activities camps and workshops for kids who want to learn about our culture, traditional skills and rural way of life.  Cnoc Ban Farm has been providing a range of theoretical and practical courses for children in an enjoyable, engaging atmosphere with the emphasis on participation. They want to nurture the awareness of and respect for the natural environment through our interactive approach to learning.

 

 

 

 

The Rock of Dunmase

The Rock of Dunmase is a stunning medieval ruin perched on a rocky outcrop a few miles east of Portlaoise, Co Laois. Overlooking the surrounding landscape the ruinous castle was once a formidable fortress. Standing atop a steep rock it is protected on three sides by cliffs while the only accessible side was protected by a double barbican, two gatehouses, and numerous defenses.

The Rock Dunamase was originally built in the 12th century the castle may well have been abandoned by the mid 14th century during the Gaelic revival which saw large swathes of the country reconquered by Gaelic Irish lords. Dunamase survived somewhat intact up until the arrival of Cromwellian troops in 1650. Then a ruin it was rendered unusable after being battered to pieces by cannons.

 

 

 

Dunmore country cookery school.

whether you are looking for your children to learn French through fun activities, want to brush up your French for your holidays or you are looking for grinds for Junior or Leaving Certificate.

Fun French for children will be introduced through varied and stimulating activities, such as songs, art and crafts, mimes, games and even baking or gardening !

 

 

 

Fossey Mountain Springs
Fossey Mountain Springs is a Western Riding Ranch located in the beautifully scenic area of Timahoe, Co. Laois. The ranch was dreamt up by a Laois man named Mick LaCumbre, who has a passion for horses and in particular, Western Riding. Together, with his wife Esther, Mick has developed the ranch into a Wild West of Ireland.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Emo court

An eighteenth-century mansion and landscaped gardens.

Emo Court was designed by the architect James Gandon.

in 1790 for the Earls of Portarlington and is a magnificent example of the neo-classical style. During the middle of this century it was owned by the Jesuits, it was then acquired and extensively restored by Mr. Cholmeley- Harrison in the 1960s. The house is surrounded by beautiful gardens and parkland which were first laid out in the eighteenth century and contain formal lawns, a lake and woodland walk with many fine trees and shrubs. The house and gardens were taken into State ownership in 1994.

 

 

 

The River Barrow

It is one of The Three Sisters; the other two being the River Suir and the River Nore. The Barrow is the longest of the three rivers. At 192 km, it is the second-longest river in Ireland, behind the River Shannon. The Grand Canal is also close by where you can go fishing also and kayaking if you please.

 

 

 

 

 

Stradbally arthouse

The official opening of The Arthouse Studios and Library, Stradbally County Laois took place on 13th May 2011. The opening was performed by Minister Jimmy Deenihan, Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht. The development, costing in excess of €1.2million, commenced early in 2010 has been assisted with funding from the Department of Tourism, Culture, and Sports Access 11 scheme. Construction work was completed in December 2010.

The architects for the development were Milligan, Reside and Larkin and the contractor was L&M Keating. Facilities include a community library, artists’ studios and living accommodation, an exhibition gallery, an equipped music rehearsal space, a kiln, and a garden space with a commissioned Percent for Art wall mounted artwork and a meeting room for the Laois Heritage Society. Under the percent for art scheme, a stainless steel relief wall piece was created by Wicklow based artist James Hayes and it graces the garden wall of the studios. A limestone sculpture by Henk Korthuys was purchased for the front of the building, also funded by the Percent for Art scheme. This sculpture was made in Mc Keon’s Stone, Limestone Yard in Stradbally by Henk when he participated on their international artist visiting programme last Summer.

 

 

 

The Stradbally Steam Museum

The Stradbally Steam Museum celebrates the steam engines that once ruled Ireland’s railways, built its roads and worked its farms.Inside the museum, visitors can see a variety of steam-driven engines. The collection includes the Mann Steam Cart, built in 1918. This small steam traction engine cleared and ploughed land.

The Fowler, another steam traction engine, built in 1936, was used in roadworks and to power stone crushers. Also on display is an elegant black steam engine commissioned by engineer Sam Geoghan in 1912. This small engine hauled raw materials around a track inside the Guinness Brewery. It took barrels of stout to the wharf on the Liffey, where they were put on boats and taken throughout the world.

 

 

The Heath Golf Club

The present club was instituted in 1930, affiliated in 1931 and extended to 18 holes in 1971; the clubhouse, located in exactly the same position as the old Grand Stand of 1889, was rebuilt in 1991 and officially opened in August 1992. The course, often described as an “inland links”, is laid out on open heathland with a natural lake and furze featuring on many holes; it is a blaze of yellow from early Spring onwards. Due to the course’s exceptionally good drainage golf is playable practically all year round with the permanent greens always in use. Facilities available include a 10-bay driving range, lake-side putting green and two practice areas as well as a magnificent clubhouse.

 

 

The Heritage Killanard

A 72 par Championship golf course designed by Seve Ballesteros and Jeff Howes is located nearby in County Laois, with the Slieve Bloom Mountains as a backdrop. Five lakes and a stream meander through the course and bring water into play on 10 holes. 98 beautifully shaped bunkers and 7,000 trees adorn the landscape which is very gently undulating without any climbing involved.

 

 

Ballyhyland equestrian center
Adults: €15 /hour, Children: €10/hour opening times 10am – 8pm. open all year round.

 

 

The K Club

Designed by Arnold Palmer, The Palmer Ryder Cup Course is ranked regularly in the top 3 parkland golf courses in Ireland. This Palmer-designed golf haven is a must-play ‘badge of honour’ that has hosted the top golf players in the world. The Ryder Cup in 2006 and 11 European Opens testify to the importance of The Palmer Ryder Cup Course to European Golf.

Championship golf is nearby with some of the finest golf courses in Ireland within driving distance of #inchhouselaois

 

 

 

Mount Juliet

The beautiful and challenging Mount Juliet golf course

has established itself as a premier golfing venue for professionals and leisure golfers worldwide. Chosen as the first and only Jack Nicklaus signature golf course in Ireland. The par 72, 7300 yard layout boasts rolling fairways, many featuring water hazards and contoured greens, all superbly blended into the spectacular setting of this famous old Irish estate.

 

 

Kilkenny

Irelands finest medieval city. The past echoes in every footstep as you walk through

the medieval city of Kilkenny. Explore its ancient laneways, wonder at the majestic halls of Kilkenny Castle or experience the glory of thirteenth-century St Canice’s Cathedral. Once you have finished sightseeing browse the famous craft gallery opposite the castle or enjoy lunch in one of Kilkenny’s many fine restaurants.

Lazer clay pigeon shooting
With Laser Clay Pigeon Shooting, players fire an infra-red beam at clays launched from a conventional clay pigeon ‘trap’. In each round up to 5 people can compete at the same time, shooting at the clays launched from the trap at various speeds and angles. The clay has about 100 yds of flight. The Lasersport Automatic Clay launcher holds up to 55 clays and can be adjusted to fire clays at different heights and angles. At night the launcher can fire luminous clays which fly across the night sky. Younger children (about 10 up) can target shoot at a fixed clay and compete with adults or older children firing at a flying clay disc

 

 

 

Birr Castle Demesne

This is a glorious centre of science and horticulture.

The gardens at Birr are set in a landscape of 50 hectares and contain some of the largest and rarest tree species found in Ireland. The gardens have a rich history attached to them. They were originally landscaped around the lake in the eighteenth century by Sir William Parsons, and over the generations of the Parsons family, the demesne has increased in beauty and interest. The demesne is also home to Ireland’s Historic Science Centre, where visitors may travel back to when Birr Castle was a hub of scientific discovery and innovation. Birr Castle can be reached via a spectacular drive over the Slieve Bloom mountains.

 

 

National Stud & Japanese Gardens

Nowhere better symbolizes all that is great about

County Kildare, the beating heart of Ireland’s thoroughbred industry, then the stud. A unique attraction of outstanding natural beauty that is home to some of the most magnificent horses and sumptuous gardens to be found anywhere in the world. The Japanese Gardens, renowned throughout the world and the finest of their kind in Europe were created between 1906 and 1910. From horses to horticulture, the Irish National Stud & Japanese Gardens offers you a unique experience.

 

 

Glenbarrow Eco walks
The Eco Walk in Glenbarrow is a novel walk that has been developed in association with the local community. It consists of 10 stops which are identified by sequential numbers and the objective of this is to inform people about the environment while enjoying their walk.

 

 

 

Dublin

The Irish capital offers a wonderful selection of activities – whether it is visiting the Georgian center, Dublin Castle, national zoo, galleries, and museums or the Guinness Storehouse and the Old Jameson Distillery.

 

 

 

 

 

Kildare Village & Newbridge Silverware

For a great day out, nestled within landscaped grounds and presented in an authentic village environment, Kildare Village Outlet Shopping is label heaven. You will find it difficult to resist temptation with 60 brands such as Louise Kennedy, DKNY, Juicy Couture, Anya Hindmarch, Aquascutum and Hugo Boss. A morning or afternoon spent browsing 60 exclusive brands offering luxury for less in a chic and casual open-air environment and only 40 minute’s drive from Ballyfin.

The Newbridge Silverware Visitor Centre showcases quality silver jewelry and accessories and a museum of style icons. Enjoy a personalised tour of the center and a personal shopper to help you choose a perfect piece of Irish silver.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.